Skip to content
The 3-year math on every pick

Reader-supported: we earn a commission from some retailers we link to. Commissions decide which categories we cover, never how we score. How we make money ›

The Best PLA Filament of 2026

13 sources read Independent data: Czech Technical University in Prague, CPSC SaferProducts Prices checked Oct 23, 2026 Recall list checked (CPSC) How we research ›
Every pick scored on 5 criteria
ProductScore Diameter tolerance & print quality(30%)Material & color range(15%) 3-Year Cost
Prusament PLA 1kgBest Overall
7.4
9.0/10
7.0/10
$431.82checked Sep 15, 2026
7.3
6.0/10
9.0/10
$272.82checked Sep 15, 2026
7.2
6.0/10
9.0/10
$324.82checked Sep 15, 2026
ELEGOO PLA 1kgAlso Consider
7.2
7.5/10
7.0/10
$251.82checked Sep 15, 2026
SUNLU PLA 1kgBest Value
6.9
6.0/10
8.0/10
$185.22checked Sep 15, 2026

Sorted by score. Prices come from each seller's site on the date shown and change often.

Brand claim vs independent measurement

ProductWhat the brand claimsIndependent figureSource
Prusament PLATensile strength, X-axis printed bars Not stated on the product page 40.7 MPa in a 2023 eight-brand study Czech Technical University in Prague study
SUNLU PLATensile strength, X-axis printed bars Not stated on the product page 43.0 MPa in the same study Czech Technical University in Prague study
All eight brands in the studyGap between declared and measured mechanical values Maker datasheet values Up to 20% apart per the authors; the study's own table shows SUNLU 21.5% below its declared tensile strength Czech Technical University in Prague study
Bambu Lab PLA BasicDiameter tolerance 1.75 mm ±0.03 mm No independent measurement found Bambu Lab store page
ELEGOO PLADiameter tolerance ±0.02 mm No independent measurement found ELEGOO store page
Polymaker Panchroma PLADiameter tolerance Not published on the product page No independent measurement found Polymaker store page

We do not run these tests ourselves. Independent figures are quoted from the source named in each row.

Prusament PLA is the best-scoring PLA filament we found for 2026, at 7.4 out of 10. It has the tightest documentation: a ±0.02 mm diameter claim backed by per-spool measurement data, and printed nozzle and bed temperatures. It is also the most expensive spool on this list, at $23.99 per kilogram for a solid color. This article is researched from published specs, certification databases and named third-party measurements, not from our own lab. Here is how we score.

If price per kilogram matters most, SUNLU PLA is the cheapest at $10.29 for black and costs $185.22 over three years in our model. Bambu Lab PLA Basic suits Bambu printer owners who want a refill option and the widest color list. Polymaker Panchroma PLA has the broadest range of finishes and the most complete print settings. Elegoo PLA is the middle road at $13.99 with the best documented packaging. Prices below were read on Oct 23, 2026.

How we picked

Every filament is scored 0 to 10 on five criteria: diameter tolerance and print quality (30%), material and color range (15%), spool and packaging (15%), published print settings and support (20%), and 3-year cost (20%). The scores come from these pages: each brand store page, the CPSC SaferProducts recall database, a 2023 filament study from the Czech Technical University in Prague, a Bambu Lab Community Forum thread, and the 205 reviews on the Elegoo store page. The CPSC database showed no recall for any 3D printer filament. SUNLU is an affiliate partner of this site, and its score follows the evidence like every other pick.

Independent measurements of diameter are thin. The one peer-reviewed study we found compared eight brands, and only Prusament and SUNLU overlap with this list. For the rest we quote the brand claim and say so. Nothing here was tested in our own lab.

What to look for

  • Diameter tolerance of ±0.02 mm or tighter. Prusament, Elegoo and SUNLU state ±0.02 mm. Bambu Lab states ±0.03 mm. Polymaker publishes no tolerance on the Panchroma product page we read.
  • A price per kilogram under $15 for everyday prints. Black PLA ranges from $10.29 to $23.99 here. Color choice can add $2 or more on the same product page.
  • A refill option if you own spare spools. Bambu refills are $3 cheaper than a spool, and Polymaker refills are $1 cheaper.
  • A stated dry-pack method. Elegoo says vacuum sealed with desiccants. SUNLU’s description does not mention sealing. If a spool arrives damp, a filament dryer fixes it.
  • Printed nozzle and bed temperatures. Polymaker lists 190 to 230 °C nozzle and 20 to 60 °C bed. If a maker lists neither, expect trial and error.
  • A spool that fits your printer. One Bambu forum owner says Polymaker’s PolyTerra cardboard spools need adapters in the AMS.

Does a higher price mean better PLA?

No, not reliably. The Czech Technical University study measured tensile strength on printed bars, and its authors report that the second-cheapest PLA of the eight scored best overall, while the cheapest, SUNLU, ranked last. They also found gaps of up to 20% between values brands declare and values they measured. The study is from 2023, so current spools may differ. Treat price as a weak signal and look for published data instead.

How does SUNLU compare with the premium brands?

SUNLU PLA costs less than half of Prusament and scored 6.9 against its 7.4. In the same university study, SUNLU printed X-axis bars at 43.0 MPa against 40.7 MPa for Prusament, but Prusament was stronger on the Y-axis (52.8 against 46.2 MPa) and the Z-axis (34.8 against 29.2 MPa). In the study’s overall ranking SUNLU placed last of eight and Prusament placed fourth, and SUNLU’s measured strength came in 21.5% below its declared value. What you pay extra for is documentation, packaging and more consistent strength. SUNLU’s page does not state dry packaging or a bed temperature, which keeps its spool score low. A Bambu forum poster who tried three third-party brands called SUNLU the best of the three. See also SUNLU vs ELEGOO PLA and the SUNLU PLA+ review.

What does PLA cost over three years?

SUNLU is the cheapest at $185.22, then ELEGOO at $251.82, Bambu Lab at $272.82 using refills, Polymaker at $324.82 using refills, and Prusament at $431.82. Each total assumes 18 spools of 1 kg, a usage figure we chose rather than measured. Prusament’s $23.99 is a sale price against a $29.99 list price, and at list the three-year total would be $539.82. Colors other than black or white can cost more on the same page, so check the exact variant in your cart before you compare.

FAQ

How much PLA does a hobbyist use in three years?

Our cost model assumes 6 kg a year, or 18 spools in three years. That is an assumption, not a survey. Scale the totals up or down to match your own use.

Do I need to dry PLA before printing?

Polymaker lists a drying setting of 55 °C for 6 hours. The university study dried every spool at 45 °C for 6 hours before printing. A sealed bag that arrives dry may not need it. See the filament dryers we rank.

Is PLA or PETG better for my project?

PLA is easier to print and stiffer, while PETG handles heat and impact better. Our PLA vs PETG guide gives the temperature limits and the cases where PETG is worth the switch.

What about Overture PLA?

We read Overture’s High Speed PLA page: it states ±0.02 mm, a 24 hour drying step and a vacuum seal, at $13.99 for black. It did not make the five because we found no independent data and its price matches Elegoo.

Which printer should I pair it with?

Any 1.75 mm FDM printer takes these spools. Browse our 3D printer picks if you do not own one yet.

Best Overall: Prusament PLA 1kg

Prusament PLA 1kg

Prusament PLA 1kg

Best documented PLA, with measured data published for every spool.
7.4
Overall score(out of 10)
Diameter tolerance & print quality (30%)9.0 /10
Material & color range (15%)7.0 /10
Spool & packaging (dry seal) (15%)6.5 /10
Published print settings & support (20%)9.0 /10
3-year cost (20%)4.3 /10
Diameter1.75 mm, ±0.02 mm claimed
Net weight1 kg
Nozzle temperature215 °C
Bed temperature50-60 °C
See it at Prusa →

We don't earn anything from this link.

What we like

  • +Publishes measured diameter and ovality data for each spool
  • +Printed nozzle, bed and sheet recommendations
  • +Ships from a US warehouse

What we don't

  • −Highest price per kilogram on this list
  • −The $23.99 price is a discount from $29.99
  • −Dry packaging not stated on the page we read

The Practical Math · 3 years

Filament, 18 spools over 3 years (assumed 6 kg per year), at $23.99 per spool$431.82
Total$431.82

Also Consider: Bambu Lab PLA Basic 1kg

Bambu Lab PLA Basic 1kg

Bambu Lab PLA Basic 1kg

Widest color list and a cheaper refill option for Bambu printer owners.
7.3
Overall score(out of 10)
Diameter tolerance & print quality (30%)6.0 /10
Material & color range (15%)9.0 /10
Spool & packaging (dry seal) (15%)7.0 /10
Published print settings & support (20%)8.0 /10
3-year cost (20%)7.5 /10
Diameter1.75 mm, ±0.03 mm claimed
Net weight1 kg
Colors43 listed on the store page
Price with spool$17.99
See it at Bambu Lab →

We don't earn anything from this link.

What we like

  • +43 colors listed
  • +Refill spool is $3 cheaper
  • +AMS compatible per the store page

What we don't

  • −Looser ±0.03 mm tolerance than the others
  • −No independent diameter data found
  • −Refills need a spool

The Practical Math · 3 years

First spool at $17.99$17.99
17 refills at $14.99 (assumed 6 kg per year, 18 spools total)$254.83
Total$272.82

Also Consider: Polymaker Panchroma PLA 1kg

Polymaker Panchroma PLA 1kg

Polymaker Panchroma PLA 1kg

Most finishes and the most complete printed settings, but no stated tolerance.
7.2
Overall score(out of 10)
Diameter tolerance & print quality (30%)6.0 /10
Material & color range (15%)9.0 /10
Spool & packaging (dry seal) (15%)7.0 /10
Published print settings & support (20%)8.5 /10
3-year cost (20%)6.4 /10
Net weight1 kg
Nozzle temperature190-230 °C
Bed temperature20-60 °C
Max speed claim350 mm/s
See it at Polymaker →

We don't earn anything from this link.

What we like

  • +Printed nozzle, bed, speed and drying values
  • +28 colors plus many finish lines
  • +Refill option

What we don't

  • −No diameter tolerance published on the page we read
  • −Cardboard spool needs adapters in the AMS, per one forum owner writing about PolyTerra
  • −No independent data found

The Practical Math · 3 years

First spool at $18.99$18.99
17 refills at $17.99 (assumed 6 kg per year, 18 spools total)$305.83
Total$324.82

Also Consider: ELEGOO PLA 1kg

ELEGOO PLA 1kg

ELEGOO PLA 1kg

Mid-priced PLA with the clearest dry-pack statement on the list.
7.2
Overall score(out of 10)
Diameter tolerance & print quality (30%)7.5 /10
Material & color range (15%)7.0 /10
Spool & packaging (dry seal) (15%)7.5 /10
Published print settings & support (20%)6.0 /10
3-year cost (20%)7.9 /10
Diameter1.75 mm, ±0.02 mm claimed
Net weight1 kg
Nozzle range190-230 °C
PackagingVacuum sealed with desiccants (brand claim)
See it at ELEGOO →

We don't earn anything from this link.

What we like

  • +States vacuum sealing with desiccants
  • +Tolerance claim of ±0.02 mm
  • +Store page lists a 190-230 °C range

What we don't

  • −No bed temperature or speed on the page we read
  • −Cardboard spool
  • −Store reviews mention spool and QC complaints

The Practical Math · 3 years

Filament, 18 spools over 3 years (assumed 6 kg per year), at $13.99 per spool$251.82
Total$251.82

Best Value: SUNLU PLA 1kg

SUNLU PLA 1kg

SUNLU PLA 1kg

Lowest cost per kilogram, with thinner packaging detail.
6.9
Overall score(out of 10)
Diameter tolerance & print quality (30%)6.0 /10
Material & color range (15%)8.0 /10
Spool & packaging (dry seal) (15%)5.0 /10
Published print settings & support (20%)6.5 /10
3-year cost (20%)9.3 /10
Diameter1.75 mm, ±0.02 mm claimed
Net weight1 kg
Slow settings200-210 °C at 50-100 mm/s
Fast settings210-240 °C at 100-200 mm/s
Check Price at SUNLU $10.29 →

Paid link · price checked Sep 15, 2026

What we like

  • +Lowest price per kilogram
  • +Printed speed and temperature pairs
  • +Beat Prusament on X-axis strength (43.0 MPa) in a 2023 peer-reviewed study

What we don't

  • −No dry packaging statement in the description
  • −No bed temperature on the page we read
  • −Price varies by color
  • −Ranked last of eight brands overall in the 2023 university study, 21.5% below its declared tensile strength

The Practical Math · 3 years

Filament, 18 spools over 3 years (assumed 6 kg per year), at $10.29 per spool$185.22
Total$185.22

What owners report

4.69 of 5 from 205 ratings on ELEGOO store page read Oct 23, 2026

Ratings shown on a seller's own page can leave out reviews the seller removed. We read the most recent reviews ourselves and summarize what repeats.

  • −Some ELEGOO store reviews mention the paper spool or spool-to-spool quality control.
  • −A Bambu forum owner says Polymaker's PolyTerra cardboard spools need adapters to run in the AMS.
  • +Of 205 ELEGOO store reviews, the page shows 81% at five stars.

I tried 3Djake, Sunlu and Extrudr so far, where the sunlu was by far the best.

Bambu Lab Community Forum, Jan 2024

I’m a big fan of PolyTerra PLA, but the cardboard spools suck with the AMS.

Bambu Lab Community Forum, Mar 2024

The specs that matter, in plain English

Diameter tolerance
How far the filament width may drift from 1.75 mm. ±0.02 mm is tighter than ±0.03 mm.
Refill spool
Filament sold without a spool, for reuse on a spool you already own. It costs less per kilogram.
Tensile strength (MPa)
The pull force a printed bar survives before breaking. Higher means stronger in that print direction.
Hygroscopic
Absorbs moisture from the air. Damp filament can pop and string, so dry-sealed packaging matters.

What changed

  • Sep 21, 2026 First published.
  • Oct 23, 2026 Prices and recalls re-checked.

Sources we read

  1. Prusament PLA Jet Black 1kg, Prusa product page read Oct 23, 2026
  2. Bambu Lab PLA Basic, US store page read Oct 23, 2026
  3. Polymaker Panchroma Basic PLA, US store page read Oct 23, 2026
  4. Polymaker US store catalog data read Oct 23, 2026
  5. ELEGOO PLA 1kg, US store page read Oct 23, 2026
  6. SUNLU PLA 1KG, store page read Oct 23, 2026
  7. Overture High Speed PLA, store page read Oct 23, 2026
  8. CPSC SaferProducts recall database, filament query read Oct 23, 2026
  9. Czech Technical University in Prague, eight-brand PLA comparison (2023) read Oct 23, 2026
  10. Bambu Lab Community Forum, alternative filament thread read Oct 23, 2026
  11. Bambu Lab Community Forum, filament brand comparison thread read Oct 23, 2026

We research products from published specs, certification databases, independent lab reports and owner reviews. We do not test products in our own lab. How we score.

SUNLU PLA 1kg · 6.9Best Value · paid link
$10.29 at SUNLU