Versa Gripps Xtreme Review
| Product | Score | Grip security & load rating(30%) | Wrist comfort & padding(20%) | 3-Year Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|
![]() Versa Gripps XtremeOur Verdict |
6.8 |
7.5/10 |
7.0/10 |
$109.99checked Sep 15, 2026 |
Sorted by score. Prices come from each seller's site on the date shown and change often.
Brand claim vs independent measurement
| Product | What the brand claims | Independent figure | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Versa Gripps XtremeLoad rating | No designated weight limit | No independent load test published that we could find | Versa Gripps FAQ |
| Versa Gripps XtremeGrip length | 6.25 in | No independent measurement published that we could find | Versa Gripps store |
| Versa Gripps Pro (sibling model)Barbell shrug reps, one reviewer | Not stated | Reviewer reports 10-9-9 reps with the grips versus 8-8-7 with straps, one person, Pro model | A Workout Routine |
| Versa Gripps XtremeRecall status | Not stated | No matching recall in CPSC searches for lifting straps and Versa Gripps | CPSC |
| Versa Gripps XtremeWarranty term | Manufacturing defects, returned within 1 year (FAQ); page badge says Lifetime | Not independently checked | Versa Gripps FAQ |
We do not run these tests ourselves. Independent figures are quoted from the source named in each row.
Versa Gripps Xtreme is a well-liked, well-built lifting grip that costs far more than it has proven it is worth. It scores 6.8 out of 10 here because the design details look sound and owners rate it highly, but no independent lab has published a load or durability figure for it. This review is researched from published specs, certification databases and named third-party sources, not tested in our own lab. See how we score.
The short version: the Xtreme is a wrist-strap grip with a raised arch on the palm piece, listed at $109.99 on the Versa Gripps store on Oct 23, 2026. The cheaper Pro is $79.99 on the same store. The Xtreme earns its premium only if pressing movements bother your palms or wrists.
Verdict: who the Xtreme is for
Buy the Xtreme if you pull heavy several days a week and also press, and you want a grip that does not hang loose between sets. The brand’s own FAQ points serious lifters who train multiple days a week to the Xtreme or the Pro, so the real choice is between those two. Skip it if you only deadlift a few times a month or if you want a rated, tested load number, because the brand states no weight limit and no lab has published one.
Design and setup: what the specs say
We did not use this product ourselves. The setup description below comes from the Versa Gripps product page, its FAQ and a named reviewer who used the Pro, a sibling model.
The Xtreme has a 1.5 inch wrist strap, a 6.25 inch grip, a stainless steel buckle, double stitching and a palm piece the brand calls a “proprietary no-slip” material. Its listed extras over the Pro are a patented U-shaped carpal bridge, meant to move bar pressure to the outer palm, and an “X-Design” structure. The Pro lists built-in arch support and reinforced thread instead.
Sizing is by wrist circumference, not hand size: XS 5 to 6 in, S 6 to 7 in, Reg/Lg 7 to 8 in, XL 8 in and up. The brand sells a longer Xtreme Plus (6.75 in grip) at $114.99 for big hands and thick bars.
On speed, a reviewer at A Workout Routine said the Pro wraps the bar about once and can be fitted one-handed, and that it stands up rather than hanging loose. That review dates to around 2014 and was last updated Jan 20, 2018, so treat it as a clue, not a measurement for the Xtreme.
How it scores
The Xtreme scores 6.8 out of 10, held back mainly by price and by missing independent data. Weights: grip security and load rating 30%, wrist comfort 20%, speed 15%, materials and warranty 15%, three-year cost 20%.
- Grip security and load rating, 7.5. The brand says there is no designated weight limit and that the grips are meant for the weight you can lift. We found no failure reports in the Scheels reviews we read, but also no lab load test.
- Wrist comfort, 7.0. Most reviewers like it, yet the most recent 1-star review we read on Scheels calls the wrist padding poor, and two of the ten most recent reviews mention a break-in period.
- Speed, 8.0. The design is built for quick on and off, and the one named reviewer who used the Pro agrees. No Xtreme-specific timing exists.
- Materials and warranty, 7.5. Stainless steel buckle and double stitching are good. The warranty is murky: the FAQ covers manufacturing defects returned within one year, while the product page shows a “Lifetime Warranty” badge. Ask the brand which applies.
- Three-year cost, 4.0. $109.99 with no consumables is high next to other grips on the same shelf.
The Practical Math
Over three years the Xtreme costs $109.99, or about $36.66 a year, because it has no replaceable parts. There is no electricity and no documented consumable. Shipping is free in the continental US on orders over $75, so the total is the sticker price.
- Xtreme: $109.99 on the Versa Gripps store.
- Same Xtreme at Scheels: $114.99 on Oct 23, 2026, so the brand store is $5.00 cheaper.
- Pro: $79.99 on the brand store, which is $30.00 less than the Xtreme.
- GYMREAPERS Lifting Grips: $39.99 on Scheels, which is $70.00 less than the Xtreme.
Returns are not free. The FAQ says exchanges are free for US customers, but returns for a refund carry a $5.00 restocking fee, within 30 days of purchase. Get your wrist size right first.
What owners and independent sources say
The Scheels page shows 512 ratings averaging 4.8. We counted from its rating breakdown: 464 are 5 star (about 91%), and 6 are 1 or 2 star. The brand store shows 4.86 from 507 reviews, but a seller can remove reviews from its own page. Scheels reviews are syndicated from the brand, so both are seller-side data.
A repeated complaint is a learning curve and, for some, weak wrist padding. A repeated compliment is a secure feel on heavy pulls. We found no independent tester that has measured the Xtreme. The measured rows on this page show exactly what is and is not published.
Alternatives
- Versa Gripps Pro, $79.99. Same brand, same strap width and grip length, built-in arch support. Read our Pro review. Pick it if you mostly pull.
- GYMREAPERS Lifting Grips, $39.99 (Scheels). A lower-cost grip style. We did not research it in depth, so check it against our best lifting straps list.
For how grips compare with plain straps, see Versa Gripps vs lifting straps, and for technique see how to use lifting straps. More gear is in Fitness.
Who should skip it
Skip the Xtreme if you pull lightly, sweat heavily on your palms, or want the lowest price. Sweaty hands are the one weakness the reviewer at A Workout Routine named for the Pro, and the Scheels review summary says sweat may reduce traction. Also skip it if you want one grip for bench press: one four-star Scheels reviewer said the “push” design did not work for him and he still prefers ordinary wrist wraps on bench.
FAQ
Is the Versa Gripps Xtreme worth $109.99?
Only if you lift heavy often and value the carpal bridge for pressing. The evidence is owner ratings and brand specs, not lab data, and the Pro costs $30.00 less.
What is the weight limit?
The brand lists no load rating and says the grips have no designated weight limit. No independent lab has published one.
How do I pick a size?
Measure your wrist: XS 5 to 6 in, S 6 to 7 in, Reg/Lg 7 to 8 in, XL 8 in and up. Hand size does not matter for the brand’s chart.
Xtreme or Xtreme Plus?
The Plus has a 6.75 in grip against 6.25 in and costs $114.99. The brand pitches it for larger hands and thicker bars.
Has this product been recalled?
We queried the US CPSC recall database for lifting straps, weightlifting and Versa Gripps on Oct 23, 2026. Nothing matched a grip or strap. The one weightlifting result was a 2006 barbell recall.
Our Verdict: Versa Gripps Xtreme

Versa Gripps Xtreme
Paid link · price checked Sep 15, 2026
What we like
- +Highly rated by owners (4.8 of 5 from 512 ratings at Scheels)
- +Stainless buckle and double stitching
- +Free size exchanges within 30 days in the US
What we don't
- −$109.99 is high for a lifting grip
- −No published load rating or independent lab data
- −Warranty wording conflicts (1 year vs Lifetime badge)
Skip it if
You pull lightly, have very sweaty palms, or want the lowest price.
The Practical Math · 3 years
| Purchase price, no consumables or electricity | $109.99 |
| Total | $109.99 |
What owners report
4.8 of 5 from 512 ratings on Scheels product page (reviews syndicated from Versa Gripps) read Oct 23, 2026
Ratings shown on a seller's own page can leave out reviews the seller removed. We read the most recent reviews ourselves and summarize what repeats.
- −A break-in period: 2 of the 10 most recent reviews we read say the grips take time to get used to, and one says they caused pain until used properly.
- −Wrist padding and price: the most recent 1-star review we read calls the padding poor for the price, and one 4-star review prefers ordinary wraps for bench press.
- +A secure feel on heavy pulls and one-handed use, a repeated compliment in the recent Scheels reviews. 464 of 512 ratings are 5 star by the page's breakdown.
Not happy about my versa grip xtreme purchase. The wrist padding is terrible for wrist comfort & are overpriced
Scheels product page review, Sep 30, 2026
Took a while to get used to and caused pain if not used properly, but got the hang of it after a few workouts.
Scheels product page review, Sep 24, 2026
The specs that matter, in plain English
- Carpal bridge
- A raised arch on the palm piece that the brand says moves bar pressure away from the center of the palm.
- Load rating
- A stated maximum weight a grip or strap is built to hold. Versa Gripps lists none for the Xtreme.
- Webbing
- The woven strap that wraps the wrist. The brand describes the Xtreme's as heavy-duty and eco-friendly.
- Wrist circumference sizing
- Choosing size by measuring around the wrist, in inches, not by hand size.
What changed
- Sep 27, 2026 First published.
- Oct 23, 2026 Prices and recalls re-checked.
Sources we read
- Versa Gripps Xtreme product page read Oct 23, 2026
- Versa Gripps Xtreme product data (price, variants, details) read Oct 23, 2026
- Versa Gripps Pro product data (price, details) read Oct 23, 2026
- Versa Gripps Xtreme Plus product data read Oct 23, 2026
- Versa Gripps FAQ (warranty, returns, sizing) read Oct 23, 2026
- Scheels Versa Gripps Xtreme page (price, ratings, reviews) read Oct 23, 2026
- A Workout Routine: Versa Gripps Pro review read Oct 23, 2026
- CPSC SaferProducts recall search: lifting straps read Oct 23, 2026
- CPSC SaferProducts recall search: weightlifting read Oct 23, 2026
- CPSC SaferProducts recall search: Versa Gripps read Oct 23, 2026
We research products from published specs, certification databases, independent lab reports and owner reviews. We do not test products in our own lab. How we score.
