Versa Gripps vs Lifting Straps: Which Should You Use?
| Product | Score | Grip security & load rating(30%) | Wrist comfort & padding(20%) | 3-Year Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|
![]() Rogue Ohio Lifting StrapsOur Pick |
7.0 |
7.5/10 |
5.5/10 |
$15.00checked Sep 15, 2026 |
![]() Versa Gripps ProThe Alternative |
6.5 |
7.0/10 |
7.5/10 |
$79.99checked Sep 15, 2026 |
Sorted by score. Prices come from each seller's site on the date shown and change often.
Brand claim vs independent measurement
| Product | What the brand claims | Independent figure | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rogue Ohio Lifting StrapsLoad rating | Not published | No independent load test published that we could find | Rogue Fitness |
| Versa Gripps ProLoad rating | Not published | No independent load test published that we could find | Versa Gripps |
| Versa Gripps ProBarbell shrug reps, one reviewer | Not stated | Reviewer reports 10-9-9 reps with the grips versus 8-8-7 with straps, one person, 2018 update | A Workout Routine |
| BothCompetition use (powerlifting) | Neither brand page addresses it | The 2026 IPF rulebook lists wrist wraps but no strap or grip aid, and bars tape as a bar-holding aid | IPF Technical Rulebook |
| BothRecall status | Not stated | No matching recall in CPSC searches for lifting straps and Versa Gripps | CPSC SaferProducts |
We do not run these tests ourselves. Independent figures are quoted from the source named in each row.
Short answer: for most lifters, a $15.00 cotton lifting strap such as the Rogue Ohio is the better value, and the $79.99 Versa Gripps Pro is the better pick only if you hate fiddling with straps or want built-in wrist padding. Neither brand publishes a load rating, and no independent lab has published a grip-security test on either. This comparison is researched from published specs, rulebooks and named third-party reports, not tested in our own lab. See how we score.
| Attribute | Rogue Ohio Lifting Straps | Versa Gripps Pro |
|---|---|---|
| Price (read Oct 23, 2026) | $15.00 | $79.99 |
| Style | Loop strap you wrap around the bar | Wrist strap with a fixed palm grip |
| Material (brand page) | Cotton webbing | Proprietary non-slip palm material, padded wrist strap; base materials not named |
| Dimensions | 1.5 in wide, 20 in long | 1.5 in wrist strap, 6.25 in grip length |
| Padding | None listed | Padded wrist strap |
| Load rating | Not published | Not published |
| Warranty | Page links to a warranty page we could not read | Manufacturing defects, returned within 1 year |
| Owner rating | 4.6 of 5 from 90 reviews (Rogue page) | Not read for this model |
Which one holds better on heavy pulls?
Nobody has published an independent grip-security test for either product, so the honest answer is that it depends on your hands and on how well you set them up. Neither Rogue nor Versa Gripps lists a maximum load. Rogue Ohio reviewers on Rogue’s own page describe a snug, secure wrap, and in a busy r/naturalbodybuilding thread from about Nov 2024, one commenter wrote that they hate the grips for any deadlift variation and use straps there, while others in the same thread said the grips need a few weeks of practice. The one published rep comparison we found is a single reviewer: on heavy barbell shrugs, A Workout Routine reports 10-9-9 reps with Versa Gripps against 8-8-7 with straps (a 2018 update of a Pro review, one person). Treat that as an anecdote, not a measurement.
Which is faster and more comfortable?
Versa Gripps Pro wins on speed and padding. The A Workout Routine reviewer says the grips wrap the bar about once, work one-handed, and stand up in front of the hand instead of hanging, which they described as a faster setup. The Pro also has a padded wrist strap, while the Rogue Ohio page describes plain cotton webbing with no padding. A loop strap has to be threaded and wrapped each set, which costs time on many short sets of rows or lat pulldowns. The trade is wet hands: in a Feb 2025 thread, one commenter wrote that the Pro was near unusable with sweaty hands, while the reviewer above also saw the straps pull ahead when hands were sweaty.
What does it cost over three years?
The Rogue Ohio is $15.00 and the Versa Gripps Pro is $79.99, a gap of $64.99. You would have to buy six pairs of Rogue straps ($90.00) across three years before the Versa Gripps Pro became the cheaper option. A reviewer reports their Pro pair was still holding up at roughly 3.5 years, with some minor stitching loss, so a long life is plausible, but Versa Gripps covers only manufacturing defects for 1 year and says the grips have a limited lifespan that depends on use and care. Rogue does not publish a strap lifespan either. We have no documented consumables for either, so the totals below are purchase price only.
Can you use them in competition?
Neither is a competition tool for powerlifting. The 2026 IPF Technical Rulebook (version 3, effective March 1, 2026) lists wrist wraps up to 1 m long and 8 cm wide, but names no strap or grip device, and it says medical tape may not be used as an aid to the lifter in holding the bar. Retailer SBD Ireland states that straps are not allowed in IPF powerlifting competition. Other federations set their own rules, so read yours before you register. We did not find current USA Weightlifting or IWF rule text on straps, so check those rulebooks directly. Versa Gripps’ product page makes no statement about competition legality.
Choose Rogue Ohio if / Choose Versa Gripps Pro if
- Choose the Rogue Ohio Lifting Straps if you want the lowest price, your top pulls are heavy deadlifts or rack pulls, your palms sweat, or you may need to replace gear often.
- Choose the Versa Gripps Pro if you do volume pulling, cable and machine work or one-handed rows, want padding built in, and are willing to spend a few sessions learning the wrap. Free 30-day US exchanges on the brand page help if the size is wrong.
Not sure how to wrap a loop? See how to use lifting straps, or compare more models in our best lifting straps list. We also have a separate page on the Versa Gripps Pro and the pricier Xtreme. More gear is in Fitness.
FAQ
Are Versa Gripps better than lifting straps?
They are faster and padded, but there is no independent test showing they hold more weight. Owner threads are split, and one reviewer’s rep count is a single data point.
Is the price gap worth it?
It is $64.99 more than the Rogue Ohio at the prices we read on Oct 23, 2026. It pays off only if the speed and padding change how often you actually use them.
Do Versa Gripps have a weight limit?
The product page we read states none, and Rogue states none for the Ohio strap either. Treat both as having no published rating.
Are lifting straps allowed in powerlifting meets?
Not in IPF competition, based on the 2026 rulebook’s equipment rules and a retailer’s statement. Always check your own federation.
Our Pick: Rogue Ohio Lifting Straps

Rogue Ohio Lifting Straps
We don't earn anything from this link.
What we like
- +$15.00 for a pair
- +Simple cotton webbing with no moving parts
- +4.6 of 5 across 90 reviews on Rogue's page
What we don't
- −No padding
- −Slower to set up each set
- −Warranty terms not shown on the product page
Skip it if
You want padding and a one-motion setup for high-volume pulling.
The Practical Math · 3 years
| Purchase price, no documented consumables or electricity | $15.00 |
| Total | $15.00 |
The Alternative: Versa Gripps Pro

Versa Gripps Pro
Paid link · price checked Sep 15, 2026
What we like
- +Faster setup, per one reviewer
- +Padded wrist strap
- +Free 30-day US exchanges
What we don't
- −$79.99, about 5.3 times the Rogue Ohio
- −No published load rating or independent lab data
- −Some owners report slipping with sweaty hands
Skip it if
You mostly do max deadlifts, sweat heavily, or want the lowest price.
The Practical Math · 3 years
| Purchase price, no documented consumables or electricity | $79.99 |
| Total | $79.99 |
What owners report
4.6 of 5 (Rogue Ohio only; no rating read for Versa Gripps Pro) from 90 ratings on Rogue store page (seller's own reviews) read Oct 23, 2026
Ratings shown on a seller's own page can leave out reviews the seller removed. We read the most recent reviews ourselves and summarize what repeats.
- +Rogue Ohio reviewers on the Rogue page repeatedly describe a secure, snug wrap that helps heavier pulls. One review mentions the straps run a little long.
- −Versa Gripps threads on r/naturalbodybuilding repeatedly describe a break-in period of a few weeks, and some owners went back to cheap straps for heavy deadlifts.
- −Sweaty hands are a repeated complaint about the Pro's palm material in the Feb 2025 thread.
- +Owners who stick with the Pro praise speed and cable or machine pulls, per the same Reddit threads.
The Versa Gripps (Pro) are near unusable if your hands are sweaty because the material is rubber so it just slips with any sort of moisture.
r/naturalbodybuilding comment, Feb 2025
Excellent. Very secure, strong straps. Definitely helping me with heavier weight.
Rogue product page review, Feb 2024
The specs that matter, in plain English
- Loop strap
- A length of webbing with a loop that you wrap around the bar so the strap, not your fingers, carries part of the load.
- Grip length
- The length of the palm piece on a Versa Grip. The Pro is listed at 6.25 in.
- Load rating
- A stated maximum weight a strap or grip is built to hold. Neither product publishes one.
- IPF
- International Powerlifting Federation, whose technical rulebook governs equipment at its competitions.
What changed
- Oct 2, 2026 First published.
- Oct 23, 2026 Prices and recalls re-checked.
Sources we read
- Rogue Ohio Lifting Straps product page read Oct 23, 2026
- Rogue lifting straps category listing read Oct 23, 2026
- Versa Gripps Pro product page read Oct 23, 2026
- Versa Gripps Pro product data (price) read Oct 23, 2026
- A Workout Routine: Versa Gripps Pro review (updated Jan 20, 2018) read Oct 23, 2026
- IPF Technical Rulebook, effective March 1, 2026 (v3) read Oct 23, 2026
- IPF technical rules page read Oct 23, 2026
- SBD Ireland: are lifting straps allowed in powerlifting read Oct 23, 2026
- r/naturalbodybuilding: Versa Gripps.. what am I not getting? read Oct 23, 2026
- r/naturalbodybuilding: Versa Gripps are amazing read Oct 23, 2026
- CPSC SaferProducts recall search: lifting straps read Oct 23, 2026
- CPSC SaferProducts recall search: Versa Gripps read Oct 23, 2026
We research products from published specs, certification databases, independent lab reports and owner reviews. We do not test products in our own lab. How we score.

