Air Fryer vs Convection Oven: Which One Should You Buy?
| Product | Score | Cooking performance(30%) | Capacity & basket(20%) | 3-Year Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|
![]() Ninja Air Fryer Pro AF181Our Pick |
7.7 |
7.5/10 |
7.0/10 |
$342.87checked Sep 15, 2026 |
![]() Breville Smart Oven BOV800XLThe Alternative |
7.5 |
8.5/10 |
8.5/10 |
$417.49checked Sep 15, 2026 |
Sorted by score. Prices come from each seller's site on the date shown and change often.
Brand claim vs independent measurement
| Product | What the brand claims | Independent figure | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ninja Air Fryer Pro AF181Basket temperature at a 400F setting | Up to 450F (Max Crisp setting), per sharkninja.com | Averaged 410.3F when set to 400F, about 10F above target, tested on the matching 6.5-quart Ninja Pro XL | TechGearLab |
| Ninja Air Fryer Pro AF181Usable basket capacity | 6.5 qt, per sharkninja.com | Measured at 6.15 L (about 6.5 qt), confirming the brand's stated capacity, on the matching Ninja Pro XL | TechGearLab |
| Breville Smart Oven BOV800XLInternal air temperature at a 450F setting | Not stated in degrees F on breville.com's product page | Averaged 503F when set to 450F, about 53F above target, on this 1,800W Smart Oven | TechGearLab |
We do not run these tests ourselves. Independent figures are quoted from the source named in each row.
The Ninja Air Fryer Pro AF181 is the pick on the math below: it costs $69.96 less than the Breville Smart Oven BOV800XL and still edges ahead on the weighted score. Choose the Breville instead if you want one countertop appliance that toasts, bakes, broils and roasts a full tray of food, not just a basket of fries.
Every price, wattage figure and cooking spec below comes from each brand’s own product page, checked against TechGearLab’s published lab numbers rather than a kitchen of our own. See how we score for the full method.
Air fryer vs convection oven: full spec comparison
| Attribute | Ninja Air Fryer Pro AF181 | Breville Smart Oven BOV800XL |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $179.99 (sharkninja.com, Sep 16, 2026) | $249.95 (breville.com, Sep 16, 2026) |
| Capacity | 6.5 qt basket | Toasts 6 slices; fits a 9 in x 13 in pan |
| Wattage | 1,750 W | 1,800 W (5 quartz Element IQ elements) |
| Max temperature | 450°F (Max Crisp setting) | 450°F (Roast/Bake dial) |
| Cooking functions | 6: Max Crisp, Air Fry, Air Roast, Bake, Reheat, Dehydrate | 9: Toast, Bagel, Broil, Bake, Roast, Warm, Pizza, Reheat, Cookies |
| Warranty | 1-year limited (sharkninja.com) | Not stated on breville.com’s product page |
| 3-year cost to own | about $342.87 | about $417.49 |
The cost-to-own row assumes 30 minutes of daily cooking at each unit’s rated wattage and the U.S. average residential rate of $0.17 per kWh, on top of the sticker price. Neither maker publishes an independent lab figure for basket or cavity capacity in liters, so the table uses the volume claims each brand states on its own product page.
Where the Ninja Air Fryer Pro AF181 wins
The AF181 wins on price, running cost and cleanup. At $179.99 it undercuts the Breville by $69.96 before either owner pays a cent in electricity, and its lighter 1,750-watt draw keeps the 3-year power bill about $4.65 cheaper by this guide’s math. Ninja’s own AF181 page lists six one-touch presets: Max Crisp, Air Fry, Air Roast, Bake, Reheat and Dehydrate, run through a single dial and a nonstick 6.5-quart basket that lifts out for the dishwasher. TechGearLab put a matching 6.5-quart Ninja Pro XL model, priced the same $180 list, through its own heat test at a 400°F setting and clocked an average internal temperature of 410.3°F, about 10°F above the dial, and independently measured the basket at 6.15 liters, confirming Ninja’s 6.5-quart claim (TechGearLab). That running-hot bias is common across basket air fryers and mostly shows up as slightly faster browning, not undercooked food.
Where the Breville Smart Oven BOV800XL wins
The BOV800XL wins on versatility and capacity. Its nine functions, toast, bagel, broil, bake, roast, warm, pizza, reheat and cookies, cover jobs the Ninja’s basket cannot touch, including a 13-inch pizza pan and a rack that holds a 9×13-inch baking dish. Breville’s page credits the oven’s five quartz Element IQ heating elements with cutting standard bake times by up to 30% through convection, and the brushed stainless steel body reads as a more finished countertop piece than the Ninja’s plastic shell. TechGearLab tested this 1,800-watt Smart Oven directly, clocking preheat to 450°F at about 5 minutes and recording an average internal air temperature of 503°F at that setting, roughly 53°F above the dial (TechGearLab). Breville does not publish a preheat time on its own product page, so that 5-minute figure is the only independently measured number available for this spec.
Choose the Ninja Air Fryer Pro AF181 if
- You want the lower sticker price and the smaller 3-year power bill.
- You mostly reheat, crisp or roast portions for one to three people rather than baking a full tray.
- You want a single nonstick basket that goes straight into the dishwasher instead of a crumb tray and full-size racks to scrub.
Choose the Breville Smart Oven BOV800XL if
- You want one appliance that replaces a toaster, a small oven and an air fryer basket.
- You regularly cook for more than three people or need a 9×13-inch pan or a 13-inch pizza to fit at once.
- You want a stainless steel body built to sit out on the counter permanently.
FAQ
Which is better for reheating and crisping leftovers, an air fryer or a convection oven?
The Ninja AF181’s 6.5-quart basket sits closer to its heating element than the Breville’s larger cavity, so it tends to crisp a small plate of leftovers a few minutes faster. The Breville’s Reheat setting works fine for the same job when you are also warming a full tray, such as several slices of pizza at once.
Do an air fryer and a convection toaster oven actually cook food the same way?
Both push heated air around the food with a fan, which is what “convection” means in either product. The difference is mostly geometry: the Ninja’s basket sits food close to the fan and element in a tight space, while the Breville’s larger cavity spreads heat over a bigger rack, which is why the two land at similar rated temperatures but different preheat and browning speeds in TechGearLab’s tests.
Is the Breville Smart Oven BOV800XL basically an air fryer too?
Not this specific model. The BOV800XL’s nine functions listed on breville.com do not include a dedicated air fry setting; Breville sells that feature on other Smart Oven models, including the Smart Oven Air Fryer Pro. The BOV800XL still browns and crisps food through convection and a broil element, just without a basket or an “Air Fry” preset.
How much does each one actually cost to run over 3 years?
Using each unit’s rated wattage, 30 minutes of daily use and the U.S. average electricity rate of $0.17 per kWh, the Ninja adds about $162.88 in power over 3 years on top of its $179.99 price, for roughly $342.87 total. The Breville adds about $167.54 in power on top of its $249.95 price, for roughly $417.49 total. Neither total includes optional accessories.
Where can I compare more air fryer models before deciding?
If neither of these two fits, the best air fryers guide ranks more picks the same way, and the how to clean an air fryer guide covers upkeep once you own one.
Our Pick: Ninja Air Fryer Pro AF181

Ninja Air Fryer Pro AF181
We don't earn anything from this link.
What we like
- +$179.99 is the lower price of the two, and its lighter 1,750W draw keeps the 3-year power bill about $4.65 cheaper
- +Six one-touch presets and a single dial make it simple to run without reading a manual
- +The 6.5-quart nonstick basket lifts out and goes straight into the dishwasher
What we don't
- −TechGearLab measured a matching 6.5-quart Ninja Pro XL running about 10F hotter than its 400F setting
- −One basket means no roasting a full tray or toasting bread at the same time
- −Ninja's own page does not list a temperature range below 300F for delicate reheating jobs
Skip it if
Skip the AF181 if you regularly cook for more than three people or want one appliance that also toasts and bakes a full tray, since a single 6.5-quart basket will not fit either job.
The Practical Math · 3 years
| Ninja Air Fryer Pro AF181 unit price | $179.99 |
| Electricity, assuming 30 min/day at 1,750W and $0.17/kWh, over 3 years | $162.88 |
| Total | $342.87 |
The Alternative: Breville Smart Oven BOV800XL

Breville Smart Oven BOV800XL
We don't earn anything from this link.
What we like
- +Nine functions cover toasting, baking, broiling, roasting and pizza in one appliance
- +Fits a 13-inch pizza and a 9x13-inch baking pan, well beyond what a basket air fryer can hold
- +Five quartz Element IQ elements and a convection fan that Breville says cuts standard bake times by up to 30%
What we don't
- −$249.95 costs $69.96 more than the Ninja before either owner pays for electricity
- −TechGearLab measured this 1,800W oven running about 53F hotter than its 450F setting
- −A full-size crumb tray, glass door and two oven racks mean more surface area to wipe down than a single basket
Skip it if
Skip the BOV800XL if counter space is tight or you mainly want quick single-portion meals, since its footprint and 9x13-inch capacity are built for cooking more food at once, not less.
The Practical Math · 3 years
| Breville Smart Oven BOV800XL unit price | $249.95 |
| Electricity, assuming 30 min/day at 1,800W and $0.17/kWh, over 3 years | $167.54 |
| Total | $417.49 |
What owners report
- −A repeated complaint in SharkNinja's own Trustpilot reviews is a heating element or quartz bulb failing within the first year of air fryer use, and a separate reviewer reported the unit stopped working entirely after 11 months.
- +Owners who reported a failed heating element on an air fryer said SharkNinja replaced the unit quickly without asking for a receipt, and Breville reviewers separately praised the company's service agents for resolving a toaster oven issue.
- +A Breville reviewer confirmed receiving a replacement oven in good working condition after a service claim, suggesting the company's warranty process holds up in practice, not just on paper.
I purchased their digital air fryer, and the quartz bulb covering the internal heating elements unfortunately broke.
SharkNinja Trustpilot reviews, Sep 2026
The service agent was extremely helpful in addressing my issue with my toaster oven.
Breville Trustpilot reviews, Sep 2026
The specs that matter, in plain English
- Convection cooking
- Circulating heated air with a fan so food cooks and browns faster and more evenly than in an oven that relies on still, radiant heat alone. Both an air fryer basket and a convection toaster oven use this principle; the difference is mostly the size and shape of the chamber.
- Element IQ
- Breville's name for a system that runs its 5 quartz heating elements independently, aiming more heat at whichever part of the cavity a function like Bake, Broil or Pizza needs most.
- Preheat time
- How long an oven or air fryer takes to reach its set temperature before food goes in. A shorter preheat time matters more for a countertop oven, which usually starts colder and has more air to heat than a smaller air fryer basket.
- 3-year cost to own
- This guide's estimate of unit price plus electricity over 3 years, based on each product's rated wattage, an assumed 30 minutes of daily use and the U.S. average residential rate of $0.17 per kWh.
What changed
- Sep 16, 2026 First published, prices checked on this date.
Sources we read
- Ninja Air Fryer Pro AF181 product page read Sep 16, 2026
- SharkNinja air fryers category listing read Sep 16, 2026
- Breville Smart Oven BOV800XL product page read Sep 16, 2026
- TechGearLab Ninja Pro XL air fryer review read Sep 16, 2026
- TechGearLab best air fryers comparison read Sep 16, 2026
- TechGearLab Breville Smart Oven review read Sep 16, 2026
- TechGearLab best toaster ovens comparison read Sep 16, 2026
- RTINGS Ninja Air Fryer Pro XL AF181 review page read Sep 16, 2026
- RTINGS Breville Smart Oven BOV800XL review page read Sep 16, 2026
- SharkNinja Trustpilot reviews filtered for air fryer read Sep 16, 2026
- Breville Trustpilot reviews filtered for oven read Sep 16, 2026
- CPSC SaferProducts.gov recall database query for air fryers read Sep 16, 2026
We research products from published specs, certification databases, independent lab reports and owner reviews. We do not test products in our own lab. How we score.

