Skip to content
The 3-year math on every pick

Reader-supported: we earn a commission from some retailers we link to. Commissions decide which categories we cover, never how we score. How we make money ›

The Best Mattress Toppers of 2026

Every pick scored on 5 criteria
ProductScore Support & pressure distribution(25%)Feel & firmness options(20%) 3-Year Cost
7.5
7.0/10
7.0/10
$229.00checked Sep 15, 2026
7.3
8.0/10
6.5/10
$305.00checked Sep 15, 2026
6.6
5.5/10
5.5/10
$44.99checked Sep 15, 2026
6.4
7.0/10
6.0/10
$499.00checked Sep 15, 2026

Sorted by score. Prices come from each seller's site on the date shown and change often.

The Coop Home Goods Original Mattress Topper is our top overall pick for 2026. It is 5 inches of cross-cut memory foam and microfiber, certified CertiPUR-US and GREENGUARD Gold, for $229 with a 100-night trial, and it beat every other topper we reviewed on total value once we weighted all five criteria. If you run hot at night and want the most direct cooling technology on top of solid pressure relief, the Saatva Graphite Memory Foam Mattress Topper ($305) uses graphite-infused foam and an antimicrobial organic cotton cover, backed by the longest trial of the group at 180 nights.

On a tight budget, the Linenspa Gel Memory Foam Mattress Topper covers a queen bed for $44.99 and carries a 3-year limited warranty, the longest written warranty of any pick here. Shoppers furnishing a dorm room or college bed should look at the Sleepyhead Gel Memory Foam Topper, which is sized for Twin XL college beds and backed by a graduation guarantee, though at $499 for a queen it is the most expensive topper on this list and worth skipping if budget or trial length matters more than its CoolTech cover.

How we picked

We scored every topper on five weighted criteria: Support & pressure distribution (25%), Feel & firmness options (20%), Cooling & breathability (15%), Materials, density & certifications (20%), and Value, trial & warranty (20%). For each product we read the specs, materials and warranty terms listed on the brand’s own product page rather than relying on ad copy.

These are researched picks. We did not test these toppers in person. See how we score for the full scoring methodology.

What to look for

  • Thickness: 2 inches is enough to soften a mattress that is only slightly too firm. 3 inches or more changes the feel significantly and works better if your mattress is old or too hard.
  • Certification: Look for CertiPUR-US on the foam, which confirms it was tested for harmful chemicals and emissions, and GREENGUARD Gold for low chemical emissions if new-foam smell bothers you.
  • Cover: A removable, machine-washable cover is easier to keep clean than a cover that is sewn shut. Check whether the cover is included.
  • Trial length: A trial under 30 nights barely gives your body time to adjust to a new topper. Look for 60 nights or more.
  • Warranty: A published multi-year warranty, 3 years or more, signals the brand expects the foam to hold its shape. If a listing does not state a warranty length, treat that as a gap rather than assuming the best.
  • Cooling approach: Gel infusion, graphite infusion, and open cross-cut structure all target heat differently and are not measured in the same unit, so match the approach to your problem: gel and graphite target heat retention inside the foam, cross-cut structure targets airflow around it.

FAQ

How thick a mattress topper should I buy?

2 inches works for a mattress that only needs a light refresh. 3 inches or more makes sense if your mattress is old, too firm, or you want a real change in feel. Coop Home Goods goes further at 5 inches for a more dramatic change.

Can a mattress topper fix back pain?

A topper changes how pressure is distributed at your hips and shoulders, and a firmer core or more even support may help with alignment. A topper does not treat, relieve or cure back pain, and persistent pain is worth discussing with a doctor or physical therapist before you buy gear. See our mattress toppers for back pain picks for support-focused options.

Do memory foam toppers sleep hot?

Plain memory foam traps body heat because it is dense and slow to spring back. Gel infusion, used by Linenspa and Sleepyhead, graphite infusion, used by Saatva, and an open cross-cut structure, used by Coop Home Goods, are three different ways brands address this. If cooling is your top priority, see our best cooling mattress toppers guide.

How long does a mattress topper last?

Most foam toppers hold their shape for roughly 2 to 3 years of regular use before they start to compress or develop soft spots. A brand’s published warranty length is one signal of how long it expects the foam to perform. A washable cover and occasional rotation can extend usable life.

Is a mattress topper worth it for a dorm bed?

Twin XL toppers are common in dorm setups because dorm mattresses are often thin and firm. See our best Twin XL mattress toppers picks, or our full Sleepyhead review for a brand built specifically around that market.

Best Overall: Coop Home Goods Original Mattress Topper

Coop Home Goods Original Mattress Topper

Coop Home Goods Original Mattress Topper

A 5-inch cross-cut memory foam and microfiber topper with a washable cover.
7.5
Overall score(out of 10)
Support & pressure distribution (25%)7.0 /10
Feel & firmness options (20%)7.0 /10
Cooling & breathability (15%)7.5 /10
Materials, density & certifications (20%)7.5 /10
Value, trial & warranty (20%)8.5 /10
Thickness5 in
FillCross-cut memory foam and microfiber blend, baffle box construction
Cover100% brushed microfiber, machine washable
CertificationsCertiPUR-US, GREENGUARD Gold
See it at Coop Home Goods →

We don't earn anything from this link.

What we like

  • +5 inches of foam for $229, more material per dollar than any other pick here
  • +CertiPUR-US and GREENGUARD Gold certified
  • +Machine-washable microfiber cover

What we don't

  • Warranty length is not published on the product page
  • Cross-cut foam feels softer and less structured than solid memory foam
  • Only one firmness option

The Practical Math · 3 years

Coop Home Goods Original Mattress Topper (Queen)$229.00
Total$229.00

Also Consider: Saatva Graphite Memory Foam Mattress Topper

Saatva Graphite Memory Foam Mattress Topper

Saatva Graphite Memory Foam Mattress Topper

A 3-inch graphite-infused memory foam topper with an organic cotton cover.
7.3
Overall score(out of 10)
Support & pressure distribution (25%)8.0 /10
Feel & firmness options (20%)6.5 /10
Cooling & breathability (15%)8.0 /10
Materials, density & certifications (20%)7.0 /10
Value, trial & warranty (20%)7.0 /10
Thickness3 in
FoamGraphite-infused memory foam over a polyfoam base, CertiPUR-US certified
CoverOrganic cotton with Guardin antimicrobial treatment
Trial180 nights
See it at Saatva →

We don't earn anything from this link.

What we like

  • +Graphite infusion targets heat retention directly in the foam
  • +Organic cotton cover with an antimicrobial treatment
  • +180-night home trial, the longest of the four picks

What we don't

  • Only one firmness option
  • 1-year warranty is shorter than Linenspa's 3-year term
  • Costs more than Coop Home Goods for less total foam thickness

The Practical Math · 3 years

Saatva Graphite Memory Foam Mattress Topper (Queen)$305.00
Total$305.00

Best Value: Linenspa Gel Memory Foam Mattress Topper

Linenspa Gel Memory Foam Mattress Topper

Linenspa Gel Memory Foam Mattress Topper

A budget 2-inch gel-infused memory foam topper with a 3-year warranty.
6.6
Overall score(out of 10)
Support & pressure distribution (25%)5.5 /10
Feel & firmness options (20%)5.5 /10
Cooling & breathability (15%)6.0 /10
Materials, density & certifications (20%)7.0 /10
Value, trial & warranty (20%)9.0 /10
Thickness2 in (also sold in 3 in and 4 in)
Foam100% polyurethane foam with gel infusion, CertiPUR-US certified
Warranty3 years limited
Available thickness options2 in, 3 in, 4 in
See it at Linenspa →

We don't earn anything from this link.

What we like

  • +$44.99 for a queen topper, the least expensive pick here by a wide margin
  • +3-year limited warranty, the longest stated warranty of the four
  • +CertiPUR-US certified foam

What we don't

  • 2-inch profile makes only a light change to feel
  • No home trial period stated on the product page
  • Cover material is not specified on the brand page

The Practical Math · 3 years

Linenspa Gel Memory Foam Mattress Topper, 2 in (Queen)$44.99
Total$44.99

Also Consider: Sleepyhead Gel Memory Foam Topper

Sleepyhead Gel Memory Foam Topper

Sleepyhead Gel Memory Foam Topper

A gel-infused memory foam topper sized for Twin XL college beds through King.
6.4
Overall score(out of 10)
Support & pressure distribution (25%)7.0 /10
Feel & firmness options (20%)6.0 /10
Cooling & breathability (15%)7.5 /10
Materials, density & certifications (20%)6.5 /10
Value, trial & warranty (20%)5.0 /10
Thickness3 in (Queen)
Foam100% gel-infused memory foam, CertiPUR-US certified
CoverCoolTech 2.0 washable cover
Trial60 nights
Check Price at Sleepyhead $499.00

Paid link · price checked Sep 15, 2026

What we like

  • +CoolTech 2.0 washable cover
  • +Built specifically for dorm and Twin XL setups, with a size ladder from Twin XL to King
  • +CertiPUR-US certified gel memory foam

What we don't

  • $499 for a queen, the most expensive pick here
  • 60-night trial is the shortest of the four
  • No fixed-year warranty term published, only a graduation guarantee

The Practical Math · 3 years

Sleepyhead Gel Memory Foam Topper, 3 in (Queen)$499.00
Total$499.00
Sleepyhead Gel Memory Foam Topper · 6.4Also Consider · paid link
$499.00 at Sleepyhead