ASKGO vs Heybike: Which Budget E-Bike Brand Is Safer to Buy?
| Product | Score | Rated range & battery(25%) | Motor & hill power(20%) | 3-Year Cost |
|---|---|---|---|---|
![]() Heybike Mars 3.0Our Pick |
6.8 |
7.0/10 |
7.5/10 |
$1,099.00checked Sep 15, 2026 |
![]() ASKGO GT30 Folding Electric BikeThe Alternative |
5.8 |
6.5/10 |
6.0/10 |
$839.99checked Sep 15, 2026 |
Sorted by score. Prices come from each seller's site on the date shown and change often.
Brand claim vs independent measurement
| Product | What the brand claims | Independent figure | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Heybike Mars 3.0Weight | 70 lb | 71.7 lb on Electric Bike Report's scale | Electric Bike Report |
| Heybike Mars 3.0Braking | Hydraulic disc, 180 x 2.0 mm rotors (spec sheet) | 180 mm hydraulic rotors, average stop about 20 ft 8 in, near the folding-bike average | Electric Bike Report |
| Heybike Mars 3.0Top speed unlocked | 28 mph | About 32 mph when the limiter is removed in the display menu | Electric Bike Report |
| Heybike Mars 3.0Range | Up to 65 miles | About 54 miles in low assist, about 35 miles in Turbo | EV Powered |
| ASKGO GT30Range, brakes, UL 2849 scope | Up to 65 miles, disc brakes, UL2849 | No independent measurement or certificate found; claims rest on ASKGO's own page | ASKGO product page |
We do not run these tests ourselves. Independent figures are quoted from the source named in each row.
Heybike is the safer buy of the two right now, and the GT30 is not a close call because ASKGO’s page was showing it as sold out on Oct 23, 2026. The closest Heybike to the ASKGO GT30 is the Mars 3.0: both are 750 W rated, 20 x 4 inch fat-tire folders with a claimed range near 65 miles. The Mars 3.0 scores 6.8 of 10 here. The GT30 scores 5.8, mostly because ASKGO publishes no warranty terms and gives no certificate detail behind its UL 2849 label.
These picks come from published specs, certification claims on the brand pages and named third-party reviews, not from our own lab. Here is how we score. The CPSC recall database showed no recall for either brand when we searched it on Oct 23, 2026.
How do the ASKGO GT30 and Heybike Mars 3.0 compare on paper?
On paper the GT30 offers more battery for less money, while the Mars 3.0 offers a better-documented motor, brakes and warranty. Prices were read on each brand’s own store on Oct 23, 2026.
| Attribute | ASKGO GT30 | Heybike Mars 3.0 |
|---|---|---|
| Price | $839.99, listed “Sold out” | $1,099.00 sale ($1,199.00 regular), in stock |
| Motor | 750 W rated, peak not listed | 750 W rated, 1,400 W peak, 95 N·m |
| Battery | 48 V, 20 Ah (960 Wh by our math, page gives no Wh) | 624 Wh |
| Claimed range | Up to 65 miles, no test conditions | Up to 65 miles, no test conditions |
| Brakes | “Disc,” type and rotor size not stated | Hydraulic disc, 180 mm rotors (per two reviewers) |
| UL 2849 | Listed in the title and spec table, no certificate number or scope | Product FAQ says UL 2849 certified and batteries meet UL 2271; badges also say “TUV Certified” |
| Warranty | None published on the site | 2 years, written policy |
| Return window | 30 days | 14-day free trial listed on the product page |
Which brand has stronger safety evidence: UL 2849 and brakes?
Heybike has stronger safety evidence, though neither brand lets a shopper verify the certificate from its own page. UL 2849 is the standard for the whole electrical system of an e-bike: battery, charger and motor together. A label alone does not tell you which parts were tested.
ASKGO puts “UL2849” in the GT30 title and spec table, but the page gives no certificate number and does not say whether it covers the whole bike or only the battery. Its brake line reads “Disc” and “Dual Disc Brakes,” with no word on mechanical versus hydraulic. Heybike’s Mars 3.0 page says the bike is UL 2849 certified and the battery meets UL 2271. Its site banners say “TUV Certified” in one place and “UL Certified” in another, so the certifying body is not stated cleanly either. Check the sticker on the frame and ask support for the certificate before you pay.
On brakes, Electric Bike Report lists 180 mm hydraulic rotors on the Mars 3.0 and recorded an average stop of about 20 ft 8 in, in line with the folding-bike average. EV Powered and Electrek also describe the brakes as strong. We found no independent brake data for the GT30.
How do the warranties and service compare?
Heybike offers a written 2-year warranty and ASKGO offers no warranty text we could find. Heybike’s policy excludes wear items such as tires, pads and chains, and customers pay freight on warranty parts. Its support page lists email at support@heybike.com. ASKGO’s site has a 30-day refund policy and a contact page that promises replies within 12 hours after business hours. It says nothing about battery, motor or frame coverage.
What do owners say?
Heybike has owner reviews on its Mars 3.0 page, and ASKGO’s GT30 page has none. Heybike’s page shows 4.84 of 5 from 25 reviews, and we counted 21 five-star and 4 four-star ratings. Because this is the seller’s own page, reviews can be removed. One owner wrote, “It was relatively easy to put together! Has a lot of power!” (Heybike store page, Jul 24, 2026). Another mentioned “dealing with FedEx” before the bike arrived (same page, Oct 5, 2025). We could not open any Reddit threads, so we quote none.
What does each bike cost over 3 years?
Over 3 years the GT30 is $259.01 cheaper on sticker price, but only if you can get one. We counted only the purchase price. Neither brand publishes replacement-part prices we could use, and we left out optional extras such as Heybike’s 3-year protection plan at $215.99. Expect to replace brake pads and tires on either bike.
Choose ASKGO GT30 if / Choose Heybike Mars 3.0 if
Choose the ASKGO GT30 if the price gap matters most, a unit is back in stock, and you will email support first to get the UL 2849 certificate and a warranty in writing. Treat the 65-mile claim as unverified.
Choose the Heybike Mars 3.0 if you want a documented 2-year warranty, hydraulic brakes and independent reviews. EV Powered measured about 54 miles in low assist and about 35 miles in Turbo, so plan on less than 65 miles. If the price is too high, Heybike’s Mars 2.5 is listed at $899.00 with a 45-mile claim and 600 Wh battery, but we scored only the Mars 3.0. See our best folding electric bikes and best electric bikes pages, and our ASKGO GT30 review.
FAQ
Is the ASKGO GT30 UL 2849 certified?
ASKGO lists UL2849 on the GT30 page, but it shows no certificate number and does not say whether the whole bike or only the battery was tested. Ask the seller for the certificate.
Has the CPSC recalled ASKGO or Heybike e-bikes?
Not in the searches we ran on Oct 23, 2026. Searches of the CPSC recall API for the product names “Heybike,” “ASKGO,” “electric bike” and “e-bike” returned no entry naming either brand. Recent e-bike recalls there involve other brands.
Which is the closest Heybike to the GT30?
The Mars 3.0. It matches the GT30 on rated motor power, 20 x 4 inch tires, folding frame and claimed range.
Is the GT30 available to buy?
On Oct 23, 2026 ASKGO’s GT30 page showed “Sold out” at $839.99.
Can I trust the 65-mile range claims?
No. Neither brand gives test conditions. EV Powered measured about 54 miles in low assist and about 35 miles in Turbo on the Mars 3.0.
Our Pick: Heybike Mars 3.0

Heybike Mars 3.0
We don't earn anything from this link.
What we like
- +Written 2-year warranty
- +Hydraulic disc brakes confirmed by independent reviewers
- +Full suspension and torque sensor
- +In stock Oct 23, 2026
What we don't
- −$259.01 more than the GT30
- −Real-world range below the 65-mile claim in one review
- −Certifying body worded differently across the site
- −Customer pays freight on warranty parts
Skip it if
Price is the deciding factor, or you need a bike under 60 lb.
The Practical Math · 3 years
| Purchase price | $1,099.00 |
| Total | $1,099.00 |
The Alternative: ASKGO GT30 Folding Electric Bike

ASKGO GT30 Folding Electric Bike
Paid link · price checked Sep 15, 2026
What we like
- +Lowest sticker price of the pair
- +Large 48 V 20 Ah pack on paper
- +UL2849 listed on the product page
What we don't
- −Sold out on Oct 23, 2026
- −No warranty terms published
- −No owner reviews or independent tests found
- −Brake type and weight not stated
Skip it if
You need a written warranty, hydraulic brakes or a UL 2849 certificate you can check before paying.
The Practical Math · 3 years
| Purchase price | $839.99 |
| Total | $839.99 |
What owners report
4.84 of 5 from 25 ratings on Heybike store page (Mars 3.0, seller's own page) read Oct 23, 2026
Ratings shown on a seller's own page can leave out reviews the seller removed. We read the most recent reviews ourselves and summarize what repeats.
- +Reviewers on Heybike's own Mars 3.0 page mention power and easy assembly. 21 of the 25 ratings are five stars and 4 are four stars.
- −One reviewer on the Mars 3.0 page mentions trouble with FedEx delivery. For the ASKGO GT30 there are no owner reviews on ASKGO's page to count.
It was relatively easy to put together! Has a lot of power!
Heybike store page, Mars 3.0 review, Jul 2026
Finally received my Mars 3.0 after dealing with FedEx.
Heybike store page, Mars 3.0 review, Oct 2025
The specs that matter, in plain English
- UL 2849
- A safety standard for the electrical system of an e-bike: battery, charger, motor and controller tested together.
- UL 2271
- A safety standard for the lithium battery pack used in light electric vehicles.
- Rated vs peak watts
- Rated watts is what the motor can sustain. Peak watts is a short burst, such as on a hill start.
- Wh (watt-hour)
- Battery energy: volts times amp-hours. A 48 V 20 Ah pack is 960 Wh.
What changed
- Sep 17, 2026 First published.
- Oct 23, 2026 Prices and recalls re-checked. ASKGO GT30 listed as sold out.
Sources we read
- ASKGO GT30 product page read Oct 23, 2026
- ASKGO refund policy read Oct 23, 2026
- ASKGO contact information read Oct 23, 2026
- ASKGO EBIKE catalog read Oct 23, 2026
- Heybike Mars 3.0 product page read Oct 23, 2026
- Heybike Mars 2.5 product page read Oct 23, 2026
- Heybike Ranger 3.0 Pro product page read Oct 23, 2026
- Heybike warranty policy read Oct 23, 2026
- Electric Bike Report: Heybike Mars 3.0 review read Oct 23, 2026
- EV Powered: Heybike Mars 3 review read Oct 23, 2026
- Electrek: Heybike Mars 3.0 review read Oct 23, 2026
- CPSC SaferProducts.gov recall API, e-bike read Oct 23, 2026
We research products from published specs, certification databases, independent lab reports and owner reviews. We do not test products in our own lab. How we score.

